The tones of a manga

I was just creating a new page of one of my mangas and I would like to unwind a bit on this post… Like I say on the description of my blog, I am, among other things, a manga artist. That’s what in Japan people call a mangaka. And if I take pleasure creating new stories, drawing the characters and making evolve their adventures in every page, there is a thing that gets on my nerves, and that’s:
The tones.
You know? That’s the shady parts of a manga, the parts that aren’t neither white nor black, but grey. And if we look closer we can realise that actually they are composed of little black spots. Well, even though this gives a better result, we lose a lot of time in the creation of a manga. In fact, you should know something: there are two ways of putting the tones: by hand (they are the real ones) and with a software (it is roughly a “tones” effect), and to be honest the visual result is the same, that’s why I have chosen the software, for two reasons:
1. Because with the tones sheets I would waste a lot of pieces*, and the more I would use it, the more frustrated I would be (knowing myself, that’s what would happen).
2. It is expensive and hard to find, and assuming that I use them on every single page, that wouldn’t be worth it at all.
 
When I have the feeling that I’m wasting time putting all these bloody tones on my pages, I think of professional mangakas, and they are very lucky having those assistants making this for them, while they almost only draw characters (and some of them really only do that…), and that, my friends is the key to go forward quickly and not “fall asleep” on your pages.
Anyway! For now I cannot afford hiring assitants to help me, and that suits me because I really enjoy to improve my skills on each page I do and mostly to be able of doing everything by myself, that’s a double satisfaction.
 
*If you want to know further about how we put the real tones on the pages, let me know and I will post the explanation with images and stuff.
